Letter to self ver 2.0

Dear 22 year old self,

I have passed you the baton yesterday, thinking that you will do better than I did for the past year. As Carl Jung had said, we meet time and again in a thousand disguises on the path of life. You might not recognize me, but I’m very positive that we will meet again in another circumstances – maybe in dreams, perhaps. Where you can see me inhaling chocolates and books all in the same time. Or where you can see me red-eyed bawling over One True Pairings that we know will never happen.

As you grow older, life has a way of making you humble. I did it the hard way, so that in the future I could tell you about how screwed up I was, and hopefully, you won’t.

Our younger version is as ambitious as I was. I don’t know if I can pass you some of that anymore.

First of all, you don’t have to feel like everything revolves around you. You don’t have to exaggerate things, although sometimes you have this neurotic habit of being a paranoid. You have your moments, and have them you will. And that will come accordingly. I told to myself that I’ll be more responsible, but where am I right now? Why can’t I be like them? Why do I feel like I’m stuck even though my feet can trudge me somewhere I want to go to?

Sometimes people around you will make/treat you like shit. Yep. I have those moments. Crying could be your catharsis, but don’t let anybody else see it. I’ve failed this challenge for a few times, and I hated myself for being a crybaby. Believe me, I’m making things better/worse than it was supposed to be. That said, this twin of ours (overthinking) grew with me. I hope you outgrow her as soon as possible.

You will grow up, and for that I am sure. You will lose yourself in the process, your friends, and eventually your career. But do not fret because somehow you will find your way back again.

Life is too short to overthink things.

And don’t ever doubt yourself for being single. I made the choice. We made the choice.

That said, I’m writing this to you not because of pity-tripping or whatever, but I just wanted to remind you that I’m always here, helping you through. After all, we still have a lot to learn – and that includes flailing around watching animated shows, listening to Coldplay etc and crushing over guys that didn’t exist/didn’t even know we exist. Here’s to another 22 years of quirky lessons learned in this journey called life. Kudos!

Sincerely yours,

Your 21-year-old self


Sending out love in the last week of November! Somehow I’m not that fully confident to face the world since I just turned 22 yesterday. What a hardship a young adult has to face. lels.

Kidding aside, I’m in the process of writing drafts and reports for the finals (FINALS WEEK BABY HAHAHA) so I might be under the radar yet again. But nonetheless, thank you very much for being part of my blogging journey!

Leave a Reply

